The Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound (TCVS) of the ASME Design Engineering Division solicits nominations for the 2007 J. P. Den Hartog and the N. O. Myklestad awards. These awards will be presented at the 21st ASME Biennial Conference on Mechanical Vibration and Noise, as part of the ASME 2007 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences to be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, September 4–7, 2007.

The J. P. Den Hartog Award, established in 1987, is presented in recognition of lifetime contributions to the teaching and practice of vibration engineering.

The N. O. Myklestad Award, established in 1991, is presented in recognition of a major innovative contribution to vibration engineering.

Nomination packages should include a letter of nomination, three to five letters of support, the nominee's curriculum vitae, and other supporting documents, if any. All nomination packages must be submitted in electronic format.

The deadline for the receipt of nomination packages is February 1, 2007.

Submit all nomination packages to the TCVS Awards Subcommittee Chair:

  • 1

    Professor Chris Rahn

  • 2

    The Pennsylvania State University

  • 3

    150A Hammond Building

  • 4

    University Park, PA 16802

  • 5

  • 6

    Phone: 814-865-6237

  • 7

    Fax: 814-863-7222

  • 8


Inquires may be directed to either the TCVS Awards Subcommittee Chair listed above, or to the TCVS Chair (George Flowers, Phone: 334-844-3330, Email: