Beginning in April 2008 there will be a change in the JEMT masthead. Dr. Hussein M. Zbib's name will appear as Editor, and my name will join those of the former editors. Dr. Zbib, who is currently Professor and Director of the School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering at Washington State University, was an associate editor of JEMT from 1998 through 2003. He will bring valuable editorial experience as well as his technical expertise in mechanics and multiscale plasticity.

It has been my privilege to serve as editor since 2003, and I have many people to thank for their dedicated service to JEMT during my term. First, I would like to express my appreciation to the associate editors, past and present, who have been essential to the success of the journal. The reviewers also deserve special credit. Additionally, I would like to thank the several guest editors who have enriched the journal during this period with eight special issues based on conferences and symposia on special topics ranging from durability and damage to the special issue on materials processing defects that appears in this issue.

The ASME technical publishing staff and my assistant Linda Conway have also provided valuable service, particularly during the transition to electronic submission and review of papers. Since the inception of the electronic journal in 2003, ASME has worked to improve the process for authors and editors. As the electronic system has matured, we have seen an increase in the number of papers submitted, reviewed and published. In 2008 ASME introduced e-First, an accelerated online issue. Accepted papers will flow into the accelerated online issue as soon they are completed, making them available for reading and citation in advance of the print version, which will go to press as soon as the online issue is filled.

Special thanks must also go to the Materials Division Executive Committee and the late Leighton E. Orr and his wife Margaret. The Orrs established a trust to be used to support and encourage scholarship in fracture and fatigue. In 2004 the Materials Division created the Senior Orr Award, to be awarded each year to the authors of the most outstanding paper on fracture and fatigue to appear in JEMT during the previous twelve-month period.