With this first 2007 issue of the Journal, it is time again to recognize the services of all individuals who have contributed to its continuing growth in the past year. I would like to gratefully acknowledge the support of the increasing number of authors who have chosen this Journal over others, and also the dedication and work of all reviewers and members of the Editorial Board. Particularly deserving of special appreciation and thanks are the outstanding reviewers and two of the retiring Associate Editors for their six years of exceptional service.

On behalf of the members of the Editorial Board and staff, I would like to wish all a prosperous New Year.

K. F. Ehmann

Outstanding Reviewers in 2006

Each year, based on nominations by the members of the Editorial Board, the services of outstanding reviewers are recognized. This year, they are:
Yusuf AltintasUniversity of British ColumbiaMuammer KocVirginia Commonwealth UniversityYuefeng LuoFederal Mogul CorporationSteven MalkinUniversity of MassachusettsGracious NgaileNorth Carolina State UniversityO. Bruak OzdoganlarCarnegie Mellon UniversityWon-Soo YunKorea Polytechnic University

Retiring Associate Editors

Albert Shih is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. From 1991 to 1998, Dr. Shih worked at Cummins Inc. in Columbus, Indiana as a manufacturing engineer to develop advanced engineering materials for a wide variety of diesel engines and fuel systems applications. From 1998 to 2002, he was an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at North Carolina State University at Raleigh, North Carolina. Dr. Shih's research and teaching interests are in precision machining of advanced materials, biomedical manufacturing, precision machine design, optical measurements, and electrical discharge machining (EDM). Professor Shih is the recipient of the 1999 ASME BOSS Award, 2000 NSF CAREER Award, and 2004 SAE Ralph Teetor Education Award. Dr. Shih also serves as an Associate Editor of the International Journal for Manufacturing Science and Production.

Y. Lawrence Yao is Professor and Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Columbia University, where he also serves as the Director of the Manufacturing Research Laboratory (MRL). Before joining Columbia in 1994, he was a Senior Lecturer in the School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin–Madison in 1988, following his MS from the same institution, and a BE from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, all in Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Yao and his team in the Manufacturing Research Laboratory (MRL) are interested in multidisciplinary research in manufacturing and design, nontraditional manufacturing, laser materials processing, laser assisted material removal, shaping, and surface modification, laser applications in industry and art restoration, robotics in industry, and health care. Professor Yao currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Laser Institute of America, and of the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SME. He also serves as an Associate Editor of the SME Journal of Manufacturing Processes, SME Journal of Manufacturing Systems, and High Temperature Material Processes: An International Journal, France. He is the recipient of the 2006 Blackall Machine Tool and Gauge Award from ASME.