The Bioengineering Division of ASME reviews and selects recipients for the following special recognition awards:

The Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award was established to recognize young investigators who are committed to pursuing research in the field of Bioengineering and have demonstrated significant potential to make substantial contributions to the field of Bioengineering. Such accomplishments may take the form of, but are not limited to, design or development of new methods, equipment, or instrumentation in bioengineering, and research publications in peer-reviewed journals. The award was established by the Bioengineering Division in 1985 and operated as a Division award until 1998 when it was elevated to a Society award.

The 2012 Y. C. Fung Award winner is Dr. Marissa Nichole Rylander. Dr. Marissa Nichole Rylander received her Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering and her Master’s and undergraduate degrees in Mechanical Engineering all from the University of Texas...

You do not currently have access to this content.