The principal advances in the design and construction, as well as the static, vibrational, and buckling analysis of thin-walled structures and buildings in the shape of general and axisymmetric ellipsoidal shells are summarized in this review. These shells are particularly useful as internally pressurized vessels or as heads and bottoms of cylindrical tanks and vessels. Reinforced concrete and structural steel domes of buildings, air-supported rubber-fabric shells, and underwater pressure vessels are also made in the form of ellipsoidal, shells. Knowing the geometry of ellipsoids, one can solve various problems in physics, optics, and so on. Basic results of theoretical and experimental investigations of the stress-strain state, buckling, and natural and forced vibrations contained in 209 references are presented in the review. The influence of temperature on the stress-strain state of the shells in question is also discussed. Some parts of the review are also devoted to an analysis of the literature on the stress-strain state of ellipsoidal and torispherical heads of pressure vessels with openings.

1.
Beattie
,
W. H.
, and
Tisinger
,
R. M.
, 1969, “
Light-Scattering Functions and Particle-Scattering Factors for Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
J. Opt. Soc. Am.
0030-3941,
59
, pp.
818
821
.
2.
Latimer
,
P.
, 1975, “
Light Scattering by Ellipsoid
,”
J. Colloid Interface Sci.
0021-9797,
53
, pp.
102
109
.
3.
Podosenov
,
S. A.
, and
Sokolov
,
A. A.
, 1994, “
Calculation of Dipole Transformation Factor in the Form of Ellipsoid of Revolution and Dispherical Dipole
,”
Metrologia
0026-1394 (
2
), pp.
30
38
, in Russian.
4.
Baranov
,
A. S.
, 1993, “
Local Waves on a Pulsating Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
Astron. Rep.
1063-7729,
37
(
6
), pp.
658
662
.
5.
Borisov
,
A. V.
,
Mamaev
,
I. S.
, and
Kilin
,
A. A.
, 2002, “
A New Integral in the Problem of Rolling a Ball on an Arbitrary Ellipsoid
,”
DAN
,
385
(
3
), pp.
338
341
.
6.
Belinskii
,
A. V.
, and
Plokhov
,
A. V.
, 1994, “
High-Speed Framing Cameras With a Spherical Rotating Mirror
,”
Quantum Electron.
1063-7818,
24
(
3
), pp.
250
252
.
7.
Rakhmatulin
,
M. A.
,
Kotova
,
S. P.
, and
Filkin
,
V. V.
, 2002, “
Interaction of Lightly Focused Laser Beam With Transparent Dielectric Particles in the Shape of Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
Proceeding of SPIE, Saratov Fall Meeting, Laser Physics and Photons, Spectroscopy and Molecular Modeling
, pp.
47
51
.
8.
Lorenzani
,
S.
, and
Tilgner
,
A.
, 2003, “
Inertial Instalibities of Fluid Flow in Precessing Spheroidal Shell
,”
J. Fluid Mech.
0022-1120,
492
, pp.
363
379
.
9.
Stergiopoulos
,
S.
, and
Aldridge
,
K. D.
, 1984, “
Ringdown of Inertia Waves in a Spheroidal Shell of Rotating Fluid
,”
Phys. Earth Planet. Inter.
0031-9201,
36
, pp.
17
26
.
10.
Schmitt
,
D.
, and
Jault
,
D.
, 2004, “
Numerical Study of a Rotating Fluid in a Spheroidal Container
,”
J. Comput. Phys.
0021-9991,
197
(
2
), pp.
671
685
.
11.
Werby
,
M. F.
, and
Sidorovskaia
,
N. A.
, 1994, “
Evidence for the Existence of Strong Bending Modes for Signals Scattered at Oblique Incidence from Spheroidal Shells
,” ASA 128th Meeting,
Austin, TX
.
12.
Michelitsch
,
T. M.
,
Gao
,
H.
, and
Levin
,
V. M.
, 2003, “
On the Dynamic Potentials of Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
Q. J. Mech. Appl. Math.
0033-5614,
56
(
4
), pp.
629
648
.
13.
Milch
,
T.
, 1973, “
Forces and Moments on a Three-Axial Ellipsoid in Potential Flow
,”
Isr. J. Technol.
0021-2202,
11
(
1–2
), pp.
63
74
.
14.
Shelton
,
G. P.
, 2003, “
Aerial Pyrotechnic Device Having High Capacity Shell
,” United States Patent Application 20030230211, Kind Code A1, Dec. 18.
15.
Krivoshapko
,
S. N.
, 1999, “
Ellipsoids of Revolution in Constructions of Buildings and Structures
,”
Building Materials and Constructions
, Vol.
4
, p.
40
, in Russian.
16.
Goldenveiser
,
A. L.
, 1947, “
Membrane Theory of an Analysis of Shells Coinciding With the 2nd Order Surfaces
,”
PMM
, Vol.
XI
(
2
), pp.
285
290
, in Russian.
17.
Krzyzanowski
,
W.
, 1976, “
Rzut Stereograficzny Powierzchni Algebraicznych Rzedu Drugiego, Krzywoliniowych (Elipsoida, Paraboloida Eliptyczna, Hyperboloida Dwupoułokowa)
,”
Zesz. Nauk. AGH
(
532
), pp.
53
61
, in Polish.
18.
Narzullaev
,
S. A.
, 1974, “
On One Method of Developing a Three-Axial Ellipsoid
,”
Prikl. geom i inzhen. grafika, Kiev
,
18
, pp.
43
46
, in Russian.
19.
Peter
,
K.
, and
Reinhard
,
M.
, 1971, “
Über Isophoten des Ellipsoids und des Elliptischen Paraboloids
,”
Wiss. Z. Tech. Univ. Dresden
0043-6925,
20
(
4
), pp.
967
974
.
20.
Vandev
,
D.
, 1992, “
A Minimal Volume Ellipsoid Around a Simplex
,”
Dokl. Bulg. Akad. Nauk
0861-1459,
45
(
6
), pp.
37
40
, in Bulgarian.
21.
Shaidenko
,
A. V.
, 1980, “
Some Characteristic Properties of an Ellipsoid
,”
Sib Mat. Zh.
,
21
(
3
), pp.
232
234
, in Russian.
22.
Kantur
,
G. E.
,
Istomina
,
V. A.
, and
Kantur
,
L. G.
, 1995, “
An Application of Circular Cross-Sections of the 2nd Order Surfaces for Solution of Positional Problems With a Three-Axial Ellipsoid, Krasnodar: Kuban. gos. tehn. un-t
,” Ruk. dep. v VINITI 11.07.95, No. 2095–B95, p.
16
, in Russian.
23.
Chervyakov
,
A. V.
, and
Mutriskov
,
A. Ya
, 1994, “
A Development of a Surface of an Ellipsoid of Revolution, Kazan. gos. tehnol. univ.
,” Ruk. dep. v VINITI 11.02.94, No. 380-B94, p.
4
, in Russian.
24.
Mehmet
,
P.
, 1976, “
Le Systéme de Projection Centrale-Polaire dont la Surface Fondamentale est un Ellipsoide de Révolution et ses Surfaces D’incidence, Istanbul. tekn. univ. bul.
,”
Bull. Techn. Univ. Istanbul
,
29
(
1
), pp.
88
101
.
25.
Smirnov
,
A. M.
,
Milovidov
,
A. S.
,
Kartashov
,
V. E.
, and
Petrov
,
E. G.
, 1980, “
Aerodynamical Investigations of Truncated Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
Stroit. Mehanica i Raschet Sooruzheniy
,
2
, pp.
74
76
, in Russian.
26.
Zryukin
,
V. V.
,
Isgorodin
,
A. K.
,
Pischik
,
G. F.
, and
Malbiev
,
S. A.
, 2004, “
Analysis of Compressed-Air Ellipsoidal Shells Made of Woven Materials
,”
Izv. Ivanovskogo otd. Petrovskoy akad. nauk i isskustv, Sek. Tehn. Nauk
, pp.
3
5
, in Russian.
27.
Royles
,
R.
, and
Llambias
,
J. M.
, 1986, “
Buckling Aspects of the Behaviour of an Underwater Pressure Vessel
,”
Appl. Solid Mech.
, Vol.
1
,
First Meetings, Glasgow, Mar. 26–27
,
London
, pp.
287
303
.
28.
Ballinger
,
I. A.
,
Lay
,
W. D.
, and
Tam
,
W. H.
, 1995, “
Review and History of PSI Elastomeric Diaphragm Tanks
,” AIAA Paper No. 2534.
29.
Menshikov
,
N. G.
, 1954, “
On a Question of Finding the Optimal Form of Large Span Reinforced Concrete Coverings
,”
Tr. MISI, Moscow
, pp.
105
114
.
30.
Shkinev
,
A. N.
, 1984,
Crashes in Building
,
Stroyizdat
, p.
320
, in Russia.
31.
Golushko
,
S. K.
, and
Nemirovskiy
,
Yu. V.
, 1989, “
A Fulfilling the Projects of Reinforced Shell Constuctions of Minimal Weight
,”
Vichislit. Problemi Mehaniki
, pp.
117
130
, in Russian.
32.
1980,
Metal Constructions
,
N. P.
Melnikov
,
ed.
, Stroyizdat, p.
776
, in Russian.
33.
Melnikov
,
N. P.
, and
Saveliev
,
V. A.
, 1980, “
A Construction Decision of the Steel Net dome of a Diameter of 236.5m
,”
Sostoyanie i perspektivi primeneniya v stroit. prostranstv. konstrukziy: Tez. dokl., Sverdlovsk
, pp.
37
38
, in Russian.
34.
Lipnitskiy
,
M. E.
, 1981,
Dome Coverings for Building in a Condition of Severe Climate
,
Stroyizdat
, p.
136
, in Russian.
35.
Gohar-Harmandaryan
,
I. G.
, 1972,
Large Span Dome Buildings
,
Stroyizdat
,
Moscow
, p.
150
, in Russian.
36.
Zetlin
,
L.
, 1966, “
New Suspension Systems in the U. S. A. Applied to Spatial Constructions
,”
Bolsheproletn. obolochki: Mezhd. kongres v Leningrade
,
Stroyizdat
, pp.
135
147
, in Russian.
37.
Dishinger
,
F.
, 1932,
Thin-Walled Reinforced Concrete Domes and Vaults
,
Gosstroyizdat
, p.
270
, in Russian.
38.
Sanchez
,
A.
, 1964,
Shells
,
Stroyizdat
,
Moscow
, p.
172
, in Russian.
39.
1963,
Thin-Walled Construction
,
G.
Colonnetti
, ed., p.
96
, in Russian.
40.
Roessler
,
S. R.
, and
Bini
,
D.
, 1986, “
Thin Shell Concrete Domes
,”
Ann. Appl. Probab.
1050-5164,
8
(
1
), pp.
49
53
.
41.
Carvalho
,
I. A.
, Jr.
, and
Bastos-Netto
,
D.
, 1990, “
Weight Analysis of Thin Ellipsoidal Pressure Vessels
,”
ASME J. Pressure Vessel Technol.
0094-9930,
112
(
2
), pp.
187
189
.
42.
Simpson
,
H.
, and
Antebi
,
J.
, 1966, “
An Investigation of Complex Shells by a Finite Element Method
,”
Bolsheprolet. obolochki: Mezd. kongress v Leningrade
,
Stroyizdat
, Vol.
1
, pp.
151
164
, in Russian.
43.
Krivoshapko
,
S. N.
, 1998, “
Drop-Shaped, Cathenoidal, and Pseudo-Spherical Shells
,”
Montazhn. i spetzial. raboti v stroitelstve
, pp.
11
12
and
28
32
, in Russian.
44.
Vlasov
,
V. Z.
, 1939, “
An Analysis of Shells in the Form of Central Surfaces of the Second Order
,”
Plastini i obolochki
,
GSI
, pp.
27
40
, in Russian.
45.
Sokolovskiy
,
V. V.
, 1943, “
Equilibrium Euations of Membrane Shells
,” PMM, Vol.
VII
, No.
4
, in Russian.
46.
Rabotnov
,
Yu. N.
, 1946, “
Some Solutions of Membrane Shell Theory
,” PMM, Vol.
X
, No.
5–6
, in Russian.
47.
Pavilaynen
,
V. Ya
, 1971, “
Analysis of Nonshallow Spherical and Ellipsoidal Shells on Rectangular Contour by a Membrane Theory
,” Tr. LGU, No. 8, pp.
99
108
, in Russian.
48.
Logan
,
D. L.
, and
Hourani
,
M.
, 1983, “
Membrane Theory for Layered Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
ASME J. Pressure Vessel Technol.
0094-9930,
105
(
4
), pp.
356
362
.
49.
Krivoshapko
,
S. N.
, 1998, “
Shells of Revolution of Nonzero Gaussian Curvature
,”
Montazhn. i spetzial. raboti v stroitelstve
, Vol.
10
, pp.
28
31
, in Russian.
50.
Timoshenko
,
S. P.
, and
Woinowsky-Krieger
,
S.
, 1963,
Plates and Shells
,
Fizmatgiz
, p.
636
, in Russian.
51.
Novozhilov
,
V. V.
,
Chernih
,
K. F.
, and
Mihaylovskiy
,
E. I.
, 1991,
A Linear Theory of Thin Shells
, p.
656
, in Russians.
52.
Stolyarchuk
,
V. A.
, 1977, “
The Determination of One Class of Shells of Revolution Subjected to Internal Uniform Pressure
,”
Prikl. problemi prochnosti i plastichnosti
,
7
, pp.
104
108
, in Russian.
53.
Petuhov
,
V. N.
, and
Shevchenko
,
N. V.
, 1980, “
On a Stress State of a Shallow Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
Teplovaya zaschita inzhen. soor. i kommunikatziy Kraynego severa
, pp.
99
103
, in Russian.
54.
Pavilaynen
,
V. Ya.
, 1961, “
On an Analysis of an Ellipsoidal Dome Under Wind Load by a Membrane Theory
,”
Stroit. meh. i raschet soor.
(
3
), pp.
38
42
, in Russian.
55.
Chausov
,
N. S.
, 1950, “
The Application of Vlasov’s Theory to an Analysis of Membrane Ellipsoidal Domes
,”
Sb. TsNIIPS, Issledovaniya po voprosam teorii i proektir. tonkosten. konstukziy
, pp.
78
104
, in Russian.
56.
Chausov
,
N. S.
, 1954, “
An Analysis of Membrane Shells in the Form of an Ellipsoid
,”
Sb. TsNIIPS, Issledovaniya po stroit. mehanike
, in Russian.
57.
Clark
,
R. A.
, and
Reissner
,
E.
, 1957, “
On stresses and Deformations of Ellipsoidal Shells Subjected to Internal Pressure
,”
J. Mech. Phys. Solids
0022-5096,
6
(
1
).
58.
Schmidt
,
R.
, 1959, “
A Series Solution for Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
Trans. ASME
,
E26
(
3
).
59.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, 1979, “
On an Analysis of Shells of Revolution
,”
Statika i dinamika obolochek, Tr., seminara, Kazan
,
12
, pp.
143
152
, in Russian.
60.
Shuntian
,
C.
, 1982, “
Calculation of Membrane Stress of Elliptical Shells
,”
Water Power
(
12
), pp.
34
39
, in Chinese.
61.
Novozhilov
,
V. V.
, 1946, “
An Analysis of Shells of Bodies of Revolution
,”
Izv. AN SSSR, OTN
,
7
, pp.
949
962
, in Russian.
62.
Vlasov
,
V. Z.
, 1949,
A General Shell Theory and its Application in Technics
, p.
784
, in Russian.
63.
Vlasov
,
V. Z.
, 1937, “
On Analysis of Shells of Revolution Under Arbitrary Nonaxisymmetrical Load
,”
Proekt i standart
(
3
), pp. , in Russian.
64.
Chausov
,
N. S.
, 1949, “
An Application of VZ Vlasov’s Theory to an Analysis of Ellipsoidal and Spherical Domes
,”
Uchenie tr. TsNIIPS
, pp.
135
139
, in Russian.
65.
Kuotong
,
C.
, 1982, “
The Thin Ellipsoidal Shell Supported by Pencil of Tubes
,”
Chin. J. Mech. Eng.
0577-6686,
18
(
1
), pp.
1
14
, in Chinese.
66.
Tarnai
,
T.
, 1980, “
A Hejak Membranallapotanak Letezesi es Eqyertelmusegi Felteteleirol. III. Elliptikus Hejak
,”
Musz. tud.
,
56
(
3–4
), pp.
379
410
, in Hungarian.
67.
Mamedov
,
I. S.
, 1966, “
A Stress State of an Ellipsoidal Shell of Revolution With Large Deformations
,”
Tr. VI Vses. konf. po teorii obolochek i plastin, Baku
,
Nauka
, pp.
561
564
, in Russian.
68.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, and
Skvortsova
,
Z. V.
, 2002, “
A Membrane Stress-Strain State of Ellipsoidal Shells of Revolution
,”
Tez. dokl.
, p.
312
.
69.
Avdonin
,
A. S.
, 1969,
Applied Methods of Analysis of Shells and Thin-Walled Constructions
, p.
404
, in Russian.
70.
Berg
,
H.-G.
, 1979, “
Tragverhalten und Formfindung Versteifter Kuppelschalen über Quadratischen Grundriss auf Einzelstutzen
,” Diss. Dokt., Ing. Univ. Stuttgart.
71.
Ermakovskaya
,
I. P.
,
Maksimyuk
,
V. A.
, and
Chernishenko
,
I. S.
, 1987, “
Investigation of Nonlinear Axisymmetrical Deforming of Concentrically Loaded Ellipsoidal Shells, Prikl. Meh., Kiev
,” Ruk. dep. v VINITI 27.05.87, No. 3811-B87, in Russian.
72.
Gorlach
,
B. A.
, and
Mokeev
,
B. V.
, 1977, “
Axisymmetrical Deformation of Shells of Revolution With Geometrical Nonlinearity
,”
Kuybishev
,
3
, pp.
63
68
, in Russian.
73.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
,
Kosolapova
,
L. A.
, and
Moiseeva
,
V. E.
, 2000, “
A. Numerical Investigation of Deforming Elastic-Plastic Shells of Revolution With the Pole Under Nonaxisymmetrical Heat-and-Force Loading
,”
Aktual. probl. mehaniki obolochek, Tr. Mezhd. konf.
, pp.
151
157
, in Russian.
74.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
,
Kosolapova
,
L. A.
, and
Moiseeva
,
V. E.
, 1998, “
A. Strength Analysis of Elastic-Plastic Shells of Revolution Under Nonaxisymmetrical Heat-and-Force Loading
,”
Aktual. probl. mehaniki obolochek, Tr. Mezhd. konf.
,
Unipress
, pp.
35
42
, in Russian.
75.
Efremov
,
V. G.
, 1996, “
A. Stress State of Ideally Plastic Space Weakened by Elliptical Cavity
,”
Izv. ITA Chuvashskoy respubliki
,
1
(
2
), pp.
61
67
, in Russian.
76.
Paliwal
,
D. N.
,
Gupta
,
R.
, and
Anuj
,
J.
, 1992, “
The Analysis of an Orthotropic Ellipsoidal Shell on an Elastic Foundation
,”
Int. J. Pressure Vessels Piping
0308-0161,
51
, pp.
133
141
.
77.
Murakami
,
T.
,
Yoshizawa
,
H.
,
Hiravawa
,
H.
,
Sakurai
,
A.
, and
Nakamura
,
H.
, 1987, “
Buckling Strength of Elliptical Heads With Core Support Structure Under Vertical and Horizontal Loads
,”
Struct. Mech. React. Technol.: Trans. Ninth International Conference
, Lausanne, 17–21 Aug.,
Rotterdam, Boston
, Vol.
E
, pp.
179
184
.
78.
Wu
,
H.-F.
, and
Wang
,
Z.-R.
, 2000, “
Elastic Deformation of Ellipsoidal Shell of Different Axis Ratio Under Pressure
,”
J. Harbin Inst. Technol.
,
7
(
2
), pp.
48
51
.
79.
Galustchak
,
O. V.
, and
Koshevoy
,
I. K.
, 1975, “
A. Stress State of Ellipsoidal Shells With Linearly Changing Thickness Weakend by a Ring Opening
,”
Prikl. Mechanika
,
11
(
5
), pp.
122
125
, in Russian.
80.
Georgievskiy
,
V. P.
,
Guz
,
A. N.
,
Maksimyuk
,
V. A.
, and
Chernyshenko
,
I. S.
, 1989, “
Numerical Analysis of Nonlinearly Elastic State Near the Openings in Orthotropic Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
Prikl. Mehanika (Kiev)
,
25
(
12
), pp.
47
52
, in Russian.
81.
Grigorenko
,
Ya. M.
, and
Vasilenko
,
A. T.
, 1971, “
On Solution of the Problems of Axisymmetrical Deformation of Layer Anisotropic Shells of Revolution
,”
Prikl. Mech.
,
7
(
8
), pp.
3
8
, in Russian.
82.
Abramidse
,
E. A.
, 1989, “
A. Numerical Solution of a Problem on Deformation of an Elastic Layered Ellipsoidal Shell With Taking Into Consideration Transversal Shearing
,” Prikladnaya mech. (Kiev), Dep. v VINITI No. 1332-B89.
83.
Kamalov
,
A. Z.
, and
Teregulov
,
I. G.
, 1984, “
Analysis of Stresses in Bonded Shells of Revolution, Kazan: KazISI
,” Ruk. dep. v BINITI 19.08.1984, No. 5220-84Dep, in Russian.
84.
Vohmyanin
,
I. T.
, 2002, “
On Rational Design of Two-Layer Shell Under a Condition of Equal Strength
,”
Problemi optimal. proektirovaniya soor. Dokl. 4 Vseros. seminara
,
Novosibirsk
, Apr. 3–5, pp.
79
89
, in Russian.
85.
Grigolyuk
,
E. I.
, and
Mamay
,
V. I.
, 1997,
Nonlinear Deforming of Thin-Walled Constructions
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, p.
272
, in Russian.
86.
Mamay
,
V. I.
, 1994, “
Nonlinear Deforming of Ellipsoidal Shells Under Local Loading
,”
Tr. Mezhd. konf. po sudostroeniyu
, Oct. 8–12, Vol.
C
, pp.
242
249
, in Russian.
87.
Koupriyanov
,
V. V.
, 2000, “
General Equations of a Theory of Elasticity Referred to Coordinates of Oblate Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
Stroit. mehanika inzhen. konstr. i soor.
,
9
, pp.
35
37
, in Russian.
88.
Ahmerov
,
E. F.
,
Rizvanov
,
R. G.
, and
Sharafiev
,
R. G.
, 1994, “
An Investigation of a Stress State of Bottoms of Diverse Form
,” Materiali 45 nauch.-tehn. konf. studentov, aspir. i molod. uchenih Ufim. gos. neft. univ., Ufa, p.
52
, in Russian.
89.
Eltyshev
,
V. A.
, 1987, “
A. Boundary Effect in Anisotropic Cylindrical Pressure Vessels With Elliptical Bottoms
,” Chislennie metodi v issledov. napryazheniy i deformaziy v konstrukziyah, Sverdlovsk, pp.
65
69
, in Russian.
90.
Lahtin
,
A. A.
, 1985, “
The Stress-Strain State of a Vessel Under Vertical Overloading
,” Issledov. prostranstvennih konstrukziy, Sverdlovsk, pp.
48
51
, in Russian.
91.
Gordon
,
C. J.
, and
Zhi
,
Y.
, 1996, “
Stress Analysis of Two-Arc Approximate Ellipsoidal Pressure Vessel Heads and Parameter Optimization
,”
Int. J. Pressure Vessels Piping
0308-0161,
67
(
2
), pp.
199
202
.
92.
Guodong
,
C.
, 1985, “
The Uniformly Valid Asymptotic Solution of Ellipsoidal Shell Heads in Pressure Vessels
,”
ASME J. Pressure Vessel Technol.
0094-9930,
107
(
1
), pp.
92
95
.
93.
Cloclov
,
D.
, 1983,
Recipiente sub presiure: Analisa stării de tensiune si deformatie
, p.
354
, in Romanian.
94.
Yakovlev
,
B. N.
, 1977, “
Asymptotic Investigation of Deformations and Stresses of a Ring, Strengthening a Joint of an Elliptical Bottom and a Conical Shell
,”
Sb. nauch. tr. Dnepropetrovsk. univ, Meh.-mat. fak-t
,
8
, pp.
153
157
, in Russian.
95.
Yakovlev
,
B. N.
, 1977, “
Asymptotic Investigation of Deformations of Elliptical Bottom and Conical Shell
,”
Sb. nauch. tr. Dnepropetrovsk. univ, Meh.-mat. fak-t
,
8
, pp.
157
161
, in Russian.
96.
Kantor
,
B. Y.
, and
Belov
,
S. A.
, 1990, “
Bearing Capacity of Ellipsoidal Bottoms in the Area of Support Pillars
,”
Issled. v oblasti prochnosti him. oborud.
, pp.
48
54
, in Russian.
97.
Hu
,
C.
, 1992, “
Theoretical Analysis for the Optimum Structure of Rotative Shell of Boilers, Haerbin diangong xueuan xuebao
,”
J. Harbin Inst. Technol.
1005-9113,
15
(
3
), pp.
242
248
.
98.
Chao
,
Y. J.
, and
Sutton
,
M. A.
, 1985, “
Stress Analysis of Ellipsoidal Shell With Radial Nozzle
,”
Int. J. Pressure Vessels Piping
0308-0161,
21
(
2
), pp.
89
108
.
99.
Golushko
,
S. K.
, and
Nemirovskiy
,
Yu. V
, 1990, “
Rational Designing of Component Reinforced Shells of Revolution
,”
Prostranstv. konstruksii v Krasnoyarsk. krae
, pp.
101
108
, in Russian.
100.
Smith
,
C. O.
, 1980, “
Design of Ellipsoidal and Toroidal Pressure Vessels to Probabilistic Criteria
,”
ASME J. Mech. Des.
1050-0472,
102
(
4
), pp.
787
792
.
101.
Antipov
,
V. A.
,
Lahtin
,
A. A.
,
Pavlenko
,
S. T.
, and
Pletnyov
,
V. P.
, 1978, “
Optimal Strengthening a Round Opening at the Top of a Elliptical Bottom
,”
Issledovanie prostrans, konstruktsiy, Sverdlovsk
,
2
, pp.
71
79
, in Russian.
102.
Alekseeva
,
O. V.
, and
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, 1977, “
Large Displacements and Stability of an Ellipsoidal Bottom Under Circular Vertical Loading
,”
Prochnost i ustoych. obolochek, Tr. semim. Kaz. him.-tehn. in-ta i Kaz. fil. AN SSSR
, Vol.
9
, pp.
70
75
, in Russian.
103.
Bandurin
,
N. G.
, and
Nikolaev
,
A. P.
, 1990, “
Analysis of Axisymmetrically Loaded Shells of Revolution With Taking Into Account Material and Geometrical Nonlinearities With the Help of F. E. M.
,”
Rascheti na prochnost
,
Moscow
, Vol.
31
, pp.
135
144
, in Russian.
104.
Gerasimov
,
V. P.
, 1982, “
Bearing Capacity of Spherical and Ellipsoidal Shells Weakened by the Flange Openings
,” Nadezhnost i dolgovechnost mashin i sooruzheniy, Kiev, No. 2, pp.
23
25
, in Russian.
105.
Yeom
,
D. J.
, and
Robinson
,
M.
, 1996, “
Numerical Analysis of Elastic-Plastic Behaviour of Pressure Vessels With Ellipsoidal and Torispherical Heads
,”
Int. J. Pressure Vessels Piping
0308-0161,
65
(
2
), pp.
147
156
.
106.
Sorkin
,
L. S.
, 1985, “
The Determination of Residual Stresses
,” Problemi prochnosti, Kiev, Ruk. dep. v VINITI 31.5.1985, No 3824-85Dep, pp.
1
, in Russian.
107.
Mileykovskiy
,
I. E.
, and
Selskiy
,
Y. S.
, 1970, “
Stresses Near the Opening on a Surface of a Ellipsoidal Shell
,”
Tr. VII. Vses. konf. po teorii obolochek i plastinok
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
428
431
, in Russian.
108.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, and
Moiseeva
,
V. E.
, 2002, “
Deforming of Shells of Revolution of Negative and Positive Gaussian Curvature Under Nonaxisymmetrical Loading
,”
Probl. prochn. i plastichnosti
,
64
, pp.
46
50
, in Russian.
109.
Gerasimov
,
V. P.
, 1983, “
The Ultimate Equilibrium of Ellipsoidal Shells Weakened by Flanged Opening Under Internal Pressure
,” Prochnost i dolgovechnost elementov konstruktsiy: Sb. nauchn. tr., Kiev: “Naukova dumka,” pp.
76
78
, in Russian.
110.
Gramoll
,
Kurt
, (1993), “
Stress Analysis of Filament Wound Open-Ended Composite Shells
,”
Proceedings of the 34th Struc. Dynamics
,
La Jolla, CA
.
111.
Mushtari
,
H. M.
, 1951, “
On Elastic Equilibrium of a Thin Shell With Initial Irregularities of the Form of a Middle Surface
,”
PMM
,
15
(
6
), pp.
743
750
, in Russian.
112.
Shirshov
,
V. P.
, 1962, “
The Local Stability of Shells
,”
Teoriya plastin i obolochek: Tr. II Vses. konf.
,
Kiev
, pp.
314
317
, in Russian.
113.
Tovstik
,
P. E.
, 1970, “
A Stability of Shells of Revolution Under Linear Approximation
,”
Raschet prostranstv. konstruktsiy
,
Stroyizdat
, Vol.
XIII
, pp.
118
138
, in Russian.
114.
Tovstik
,
P. E.
, 1995,
Stability of Thin Shells: Asymptotic Methods
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
320
, in Russian.
115.
Surkin
,
R. G.
, 1955, “
To a Theory of a Prolate Ellipsoidal Shell of Revolution Under External Uniform Pressure
,”
Izv. Kazan. fil. AN SSSR, Fiz.-mat. ser.
,
Kazan
, Vol.
7
, pp.
3
15
, in Russian.
116.
Mushtari
,
H. M.
, and
Galimov
,
K. Z.
, 1957, “
Nonlinear Theory of Elastic Shells
,”
Kazan
, pp.
431
, in Russian.
117.
Pogorelov
,
A. V.
, 1967,
Geometrical Methods in a Nonlinear Theory of Elastic Shells
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
280
, in Russian.
118.
Volmir
,
A. S.
, 1967,
The Stability of Deforming System
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
984
, in Russian.
119.
Fidrovskaya
,
N. N.
, 2000, “
Stability of an Ellipsoidal Shell
,” Ukr. ing.-ped. akad., Harkov, Dep. v GNTB Ukraini 20.09.2000, No. 172-Uk2000, pp.
6
.
120.
Pogorelov
,
A. V.
, 1986,
Bending the Surfaces and Shell Stability
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
96
, in Russian.
121.
Danielson
,
D. A.
, 1969, “
Buckling and Initial Postbuckling Behaviour of Spheroidal Shells Under Pressure
,”
AIAA J.
0001-1452,
7
(
5
), pp.
936
944
.
122.
Surkin
,
R. G.
, 1952, “
To a Theory of Stability and Strength of Spherical and Ellipsoidal Shells, Bottoms, and Membranes
,” Ph.D. thesis, in Russian.
123.
Sachenkov
,
A. V.
, 1962, “
On One Approach to the Solution of Nonlinear Problems of Stability of Thin Shells
,” Nelineynaya teoriya plastin i obolochek, Kazan, KGU, pp.
3
41
, in Russian.
124.
Hyman
,
B. J.
, 1965, “
Elastic Instability of Prolate Spheroidal Shells Under Uniform External Pressure
,” David Taylor Model Basin, Report No. 2105.
125.
Alumyae
,
N. A.
, 1956, “
Critical Pressure of Elastic Shell of Revolution in the Form of Ellipsoidal Surface
,”
Izv. AN Estonskoy SSR, ser. tehn. i fiz.-mat. nauk
,
5
(
16
), pp.
175
190
, in Russian.
126.
Bakirova
,
A. Z.
, 1973, “
On Stability of Closed Prolate Shells of Revolution Under Uniform External Pressure
,”
Tr. semin. po teorii obolochek, Kazan, Kaz. fiz.-tehnol. in-t
,
3
, pp.
266
277
, in Russian.
127.
Bakirova
,
A. Z.
, and
Surkin
,
R. G.
, 1973, “
On a problem of Stability of Prolate Shells of Revolution Under External Uniform Pressure
,”
Teoriya obolochek i plastin
, Tr. VIII Vses. konf. po teorii obolochek i plastin,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
226
230
.
128.
Krivosheev
,
N. I.
, 1975, “
On Stability of Ellipsoidal Shells of Revolution
,”
Prochnost i zhestkost tonkosten. konstrukziy
, pp.
74
79
, in Russian.
129.
Krivosheev
,
N. I.
, and
Murtazin
,
R. Z.
, 1975, “
On Stability of Ellipsoidal Shells
,” Tr. seminar. po teorii obolochek, Kazan: Kaz. fiz.-tehn. in-t, pp.
125
129
, in Russian.
130.
Krivosheev
,
N. I.
, 1977, “
On Stability of Prolate Ellipsoidal Shells
,” Prochnost i zhostkost tonkost. konstruktsiy, Kazan: Kaz. fiz.-tehn. in-t, Vol.
2
, Ruk. dep.v VINITI 25.10. 1977, No. 4101-77Dep, pp.
114
120
, in Russian.
131.
Kabritz
,
S. A.
, and
Terentiev
,
V. F.
, 1988, “
On Some Features of the Application of Methods of Continuation on a Parameter for a Problem on a Ellipsoidal Shell of Revolution
,” Matem. metodi, metodi resheniya i optim. proektir. gibkih plastin i obolochek, Saratov, pp.
9
11
, in Russian.
132.
Gulyayev
,
V. I.
,
Soloviov
,
L. L.
, and
Belova
,
M. A.
, 2004, “
Critical States of Thin Ellipsoidal Shells in Simple and Compound Rotations
,”
J. Sound Vib.
0022-460X,
270
(
1
), pp.
32
340
.
133.
Rachkov
,
V. I.
, 1966, “
Stability of Ellipsoidal Bottoms Under External Pressure
,” Voprosi prochn. v himich. mashinostr., Tr. NIIHIMMASh, No. 50, in Russian.
134.
Abdulhakov
,
M. K.
, and
Ganiev
,
N. S.
, 1990, “
Stability of Composite Shells of Revolution
,” Raschet plastin i obolochek v him. mashinostr., Kazan: Kaz. him.-tehn. in-t, pp.
3
8
, in Russian.
135.
Abdulhakov
,
M. K.
, 1987, “
Stability of a Composite Ellipsoidal Shell With Taking Into Account Deformation of Transverse Shearing
,” Kazan: Kaz. him.-tehn. in-t, Ruk. dep. v VINITI No. 6815-B87, 23.09.,
87
, pp.
13
, in Russian.
136.
Segal
,
B. L.
, and
Cherevatskiy
,
S. B.
, 1966, “
Thread Nets on a Surface
,”
Tr. V. I. Vses. konf. po teorii obolochek i plastin
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
749
753
, in Russian.
137.
Ganiev
,
N. S.
, 1981, “
A Local Stability of Glass-and-Plastic Shells of Revolution With Taking Into Consideration the Deformation Of Transverse Shearing
,” Issledovoniya po teorii plastin i obolochek, Kazan, No. 16, pp.
106
109
, in Russian.
138.
Vinson
,
J. R.
, 1993,
The Behavior of Shells Composed of Isotropic and Composite Materials
,
Springer
,
Berlin
, pp.
576
.
139.
Vasiliev
,
A. N.
, and
Ivanov
,
V. A.
, 1986, “
Stability of Layered Ellipsoidal Shells of Revolution With Filling
,” Prochnost i ustoychivost obolochek, Tr. semin. Kaz. fiz.-tehn. in-ta, Kazan, Vol.
19
, Part 2, pp.
37
47
, in Russian.
140.
Ganiev
,
N. S.
,
Gumerova
,
H. S.
, and
Nurullina
,
D. A.
, 1992, “
Stability of an Orthotropic Ellipsoidal Shell of Revolution Under Internal Uniform Pressure
,” Issledovaniya po teorii plastin i obolochek, No. 24, pp.
3
6
, in Russian.
141.
Ganiev
,
N. S.
, 1982, “
Application of the Finite Difference Method to Investigation of Stability of an Orthotropic Ellipsoidal Shell
,” Kazan. him.-tehnol. in-t, dep v VINITI No. 5826–82Dep, 25.11.1982, pp.
8
, in Russian.
142.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, and
Kosolapova
,
L. A.
, 1984, “
Nonaxisymmetrical Loss of Stability of Orthotropic Prolate Ellipsoidal and Spherical Shells
.” Tr. semin. po teorii obolochek, Kazan, Kaz. fiz.-tehnol. in-t, Vol.
17
, pp.
32
45
, in Russian.
143.
Haliullin
,
G. H.
, 1979, “
A Local Stability of Two-Layered Orthotropic Shells of Revolution
,” Kazan. him.-tehnol. in-t, Kazan, Ruk. dep. v VINITI 25.12.1979, No. 4409-79Dep, pp.
16
, in Russian.
144.
Alekseeva
,
O. V.
,
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, and
Kosolapova
,
L. A.
, 1982, “
Large Axisymmetrical Displacements and Nonsymmetrical Loss of Stability of Nonshallow Shells of Revolution Weakened by an Opening
,” KazISI, Kaz. fiz.-tehn. in-t A. N. SSSR, Kazan, Ruk. dep. v VINITI 22.10.1982, No. 5304-82Dep, pp.
18
.
145.
Mikhasev
,
G. I.
, 1984, “
Local Loss of Stability of a Thin Truncated Ellipsoid Under Combined Load
,” Vestnik LGU,
19
, pp.
85
90
.
146.
Tovstik
,
P. E.
, 1982, “
On a Question of Local Stability of Shells
,” Vestnik LGU,
13
, pp.
72
78
, in Russian.
147.
Ganiev
,
N. S.
, and
Cherevatskiy
,
A. S.
, 1989, “
On Calculation of Critical Loads of Shells of Revolution With Application of a Theory of Local Stability
,” Prikladnaya teoriya uprugosti, Saratov, pp.
49
55
, (in Russian).
148.
Wunderlich
,
W.
,
Rensch
,
H. J.
, and
Obrecht-Bochum
,
H.
, 1982. “
Analysis of Elastic-Plastic Buckling and Imperfection-Sensitivity of Shells of Revolution, Buckling of Shells
,”
Proceedings of a State-of-the-Art Colloq.
,
Universitat Stuttgart
,
Germany
, May 6–7, pp.
137
174
.
149.
Alekseeva
,
O. V.
, and
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, 1979, “
Numerical Searching Large Axisymmetrical Displacements of Thin Nonshallow Shells of Revolution
,” Statika i dinamika obolochek, Tr. semin., Kazan, Vol.
12
, pp.
92
102
, in Russian.
150.
Ganeeva
,
M. S.
, and
Alekseeva
,
O. V.
, 1980, “
Numerical Searching Nonaxisymmetrical Loss of Stability of Elastic Shells of Revolution
,” Tr. semin. po teorii obolochek, Kazan, Kaz. fiz.-tehnol. in-t, Vol.
13
, pp.
89
99
, in Russian.
151.
Ross
,
C. I. F.
,
Youster
,
R.
, and
Sadler
,
J. R.
, 2001, “
The Buckling of Plastic Hemi-ellipsoidal Dome Shells Under External Hydrostatic Pressure
,”
Ocean Eng.
0029-8018,
28
(
7
), July, pp.
789
803
.
152.
Grigorenko
,
Y. M.
,
Gulyayev
,
V. I.
, and
Gotzylyak
,
E. A.
, 1982, “
A Numerical Investigation of Stability of Component Shells of Revolution Under Internal Pressure
,” Nadezhn. i dolgovechnost mashin i sooruzheniy, Kiev, pp.
15
23
, in Russian.
153.
Mushtari
,
H. M.
, 1939, “
Some Generalizations of Thin Shell Theory With Application to a Problem of Stability of Elastic Equilibrium
,”
PMM
,
2
(
4
), pp.
18
21
, in Russian.
154.
Brown
,
K. W.
, and
Kraus
,
H.
, 1976, “
Stability of Internally-Pressurized Vessels With Ellipsoidal Heads
,”
ASME J. Pressure Vessel Technol.
0094-9930,
98
, pp.
157
161
.
155.
Galletly
,
G. D.
, 1978, “
Elastic and Elastic-Plastic Buckling of Internally Pressurized Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
ASME J. Pressure Vessel Technol.
0094-9930,
100
, pp.
335
343
.
156.
Magnucki
,
K.
,
Wegner
,
T.
, and
Szyc
,
W.
, 1988, “
On Buckling of Ellipsoidal Cups Under Internal Pressure
,”
Ing.-Arch.
0020-1154,
58
(
5
), pp.
339
342
.
157.
Bakirova
,
A. Z.
, and
Surkin
,
R. G.
, 1977, “
On Stability of Ellipsoidal and Spheroidal Shells of Revolution Under External Uniformly Distributed Pressure
,” Prochnost i ustoych. obolochek, Tr. semim. Kaz. fiz.-tehn. in-ta i Kaz. fil. AN. SSSR, Vol.
9
, pp.
5
16
, in Russian.
158.
Roshe
,
R. L.
,
Alix
,
M.
, and
Autrusson
,
B.
, 1984, “
Design Rules Against Buckling of Dished Heads
,”
Fifth International Conference Pressure Vessel Technology
,
San Francisco, CA
, Sept. 9–14, 1984, Vol.
1
, pp.
274
289
.
159.
Magnucki
,
K.
, and
Szyc
,
W.
, 1999, “
StabilityProblems of Pressure Vessel Ellipsoidal Heads
,”
Arch Budowy Maszyn
,
46
(
1
), pp.
43
55
.
160.
Magnucki
,
K.
, and
Szyc
,
W.
, 2000, “
Stability of Ellipsoidal Heads of Cylindrical Pressure Vessels
,”
Appl. Mech. Eng.
1425-1655,
5
(
2
), pp.
389
404
.
161.
Bentebba
,
M. T.
,
Gaydaychuk
,
V. V.
, and
Gotsulyak
,
E. A.
, 1985, “
Stability of Torispherical Shells Under External and Internal Pressure
,”
Mashinostroenie
,
12
, pp.
25
28
, in Russian.
162.
Gulyayev
,
B. I.
,
Bazhenov
,
V. A.
,
Gotsulyak
,
E. A.
, and
Gaidaichuk
,
V. V.
, 1990, “
An Analysis of Shells of Complex Form
,” Kiev: Budivelnik, pp.
192
, in Russian.
163.
Zhadrasinov
,
N. T.
, 1982, “
Investigation of Nonlinear Stability of Component Shells of Revolution
,” Soprot. materialov i teoriya soor., (Kiev),
40
, pp.
110
114
, in Russian.
164.
Aylward
,
R. W.
, and
Galletly
,
G. D.
, 1978, “
Elastic Buckling and First Yielding in Thin Torispherical Shells Subjected to Internal Pressure
,” Applied Mechanics Division, Liverpool, No. 4, pp.
321
336
.
165.
Galletly
,
G. D.
, 1981, “
Plastic Buckling of Torispherical and Ellipsoidal Shells Subjected to Internal Pressure
,”
Proc. Inst. Mech. Eng.
0020-3483,
195
(
26
), pp.
329
345
.
166.
Shield
,
R. T.
, and
Drucker
,
D. G.
, 1961, “
Design of Thin-Walled Torispherical and Toriconical Pressure Vessels Heads
,”
Trans. ASME
0097-6822 (
2
), pp.
292
297
.
167.
Soric
,
J.
, and
Smojver
,
I.
, 1995, “
On the Effect of Fibre Directions in Laminated Composite Torispherical Shells
,”
Eng. Comput.
0177-0667,
12
, pp.
85
94
.
168.
Soric
,
J.
, 1995, “
Imperfection Sensitivity of Internally Pressurized Torispherical Shells
,”
Thin-Walled Struct.
0263-8231, Vol.
23
, pp.
57
66
.
169.
Vlaykov
,
G. G.
, 1980, “
The Stress State of Thick-Walled Shells of Revolution Under Nonuniform Heat Loading
,”
Prikl. Mekh.
0032-8243,
16
(
8
), pp.
116
119
, in Russian.
170.
Horoshun
,
L. P.
,
Kozlov
,
A. V.
, and
Patlashenko
,
I. Y.
, 1988, “
A Stress-Strain State of Heat-Sensitive Shells of Revolution of Changing Thickness
,”
Prikl. Mekh.
0032-8243,
24
(
9
), pp.
38
44
, in Russian.
171.
Ivanov
,
Y. P.
, 1971, “
On the Lowest Frequency of Vibration of a Convex Shell of Revolution
,”
Prikl. Mekh.
0032-8243,
7
(
5
), pp.
131
134
, in Russian.
172.
Kosawada
,
T.
,
Suzuki
,
K.
, and
Takahashi
,
S.
, (1986), “
Axisymmetric Free Vibrations of Shells of Revolution Having General Meridional Curvature
,”
Trans. Jpn. Soc. Mech. Eng., Ser. C
0387-5024,
52
(
473
), pp.
209
215
, in Japanese.
173.
Suzuki
,
K.
,
Miura
,
K.
, and
Kosawada
,
T.
, 1988, “
Asymmetric Vibrations of Shells of Revolution Having Meridionally Varying Curvature and Thickness
,”
Trans. Jpn. Soc. Mech. Eng., Ser. C
0387-5024
54
(
508
), pp.
2830
2836
, in Japanese.
174.
Suzuki
,
K.
,
Takahashi
,
F.
,
Kosawada
,
T.
, and
Takahashi
,
S.
, 1987, “
Axisymmetric Vibration of Thick Shells of Revolution Having Meridionally Varying Curvature
,”
Trans. Jpn. Soc. Mech. Eng., Ser. C
0387-5024
53
(
495
), pp.
2222
2227
, in Japanese.
175.
Suzuki
,
K.
,
Yachita
,
T.
, and
Kosawada
,
T.
, 1988, “
Asymmetric Vibrations of Thick Shells of Revolution Having Meridionally Varying Curvature
,”
Trans. Jpn. Soc. Mech. Eng., Ser. C
0387-5024
54
(
508
), pp.
2822
2828
, in Japanese.
176.
Hayek
,
S. I.
, and
Boisvert
,
J. E.
, 2003, “
Vibration of Prolate Spheroidal Shells With Shear Deformation and Rotary Inertia: Axisymmetric Case
,”
J. Acoust. Soc. Am.
0001-4966,
114
(
5
), pp.
799
811
.
177.
Filippov
,
S. V.
, 1976, “
Free Axisymmetrical Vibrations of Shells in the Form of an Ellipsoid of Revolution
,”
Vestnik LGU
, No. 1, pp.
117
121
, in Russian.
178.
Leissa
,
A. W.
, 1973, “
Vibration of Shells
,”
U.S. Government Printing Office
,
Washington, D.C.
(reprinted by the Acoustial Society of America, 1993), pp.
428
.
179.
DiMaggio
,
F.
, and
Rand
,
R. H.
, 1966, “
Axisymmetrical Vibrations of Prolate Spheroidal Shells
,”
J. Acoust. Soc. Am.
0001-4966,
40
, pp.
179
186
.
180.
Ross
,
C. I. F.
, and
Johns
,
T.
, 1986, “
Vibration of Hemi-Ellipsoidal Axisymmetric Domes Submerged in Water
,”
Proc. I. Mech. E.
,
200
, pp.
338
398
.
181.
Todorovska-Azhievska
,
L.
, 1983, “
Prilog kon Formiranyeto na Deformaziyalnite Ravenki za Slobodni Neaksialno-Simmetrichni Oszilazii na Rotazioni Lushpi Optovareni so Normalen Ramnomeren Nadvoreshen Pritisok
,”
Zb. tr. Univ. zent. mat.-tehn. nauki. Mash. fak. Skope
,
5
, pp.
35
41
, in Macedonian.
182.
Gulyayev
,
V. I.
,
Kirichuk
,
A. A.
, and
Sadil
,
O. M.
, 1991, “
Stability of Nonlinear Vibrations of Ellipsoidal Shells Under Kinematic Excitation
,”
Dinamika i prochnost mashin
,
52
, pp.
20
24
, in Russian.
183.
Bespalova
,
E. I.
,
Grigorenko
Y. M.
,
Kitaygorodskiy
,
A. B.
, and
Shinkar
,
A. I.
, 1991, “
Free Vibrations of Precast Anisotropic Shells of Revolution
,”
Oncologica
0929-8703,
27
(
5
), pp.
51
57
, in Russian.
184.
Gulyayev
,
V. I.
,
Kirichuk
,
A. A.
, and
Mrue
,
Z. A.
, 1988, “
Stability of Forced Nonlinear Vibrations of a Closed Ellipsoidal Shell
,” Soprotiv. materialov i teoriya soor.,
53
, pp.
3
6
, in Russian.
185.
Lin
,
C. W.
,
Kitipornchai
,
S.
, and
Liew
,
K. M.
, 1996, “
Modeling the Vibration of a Variable Thickness Ellipsoidal Dish With Central Point Clamp or Concentric Surface Clamp
,”
J. Acoust. Soc. Am.
0001-4966,
99
(
1
), pp.
362
372
.
186.
Kairov
,
A. S.
, 1999, “
Influence of a Meridional Form and Attached Bodies to Free Vibration of Shells of Revolution
,”
Teor. i prikl. mehanika (Kiev)
,
29
, pp.
117
122
, in Russian.
187.
Suzuki
,
K.
,
Kosawada
,
T.
,
Uehara
,
T.
, and
Kumagai
,
H.
, 1991, “
Free Vibrations of a Vessel Consisting of Circular Plates and a Shell of Revolution Having Varying Meridional Curvature
,”
J. Sound Vib.
0022-460X,
144
(
2
), pp.
263
279
.
188.
Penzes
,
L. E.
, 1969, “
Free Vibrationof Thin Orthotropic Oblate Spheroidal Shells
,”
J. Acoust. Soc. Am.
0001-4966, Vol.
45
, Issue
2
pp.
500
505
.
189.
Gerasimov
,
A. V.
, and
Lyukshin
,
P. A.
, 1978, “
An Analysis of a Shell of Revolution With Filling
,”
Teoriya uprugosti i plastichnosti, Tomsk
, pp.
23
25
, in Russian.
190.
Shulga
,
N. A.
, and
Meish
,
V. F.
, 2003, “
Forced Vibrations of Three-layered Spherical and Ellipsoidal Shells Under Axisymmetrical Loads
,”
Meh. kompozit. mater.
,
39
(
5
), pp.
659
670
, in Russian.
191.
Dzama
,
M. A.
, and
Egarmin
,
N. E.
, 1991, “
A Procession of Elastic Waves Under Rotation of Some Classes of Axisymmetrical Shells
,”
Izv. AN SSSR. MTT
,
1
, pp.
170
175
, in Russian.
192.
Gulyayev
,
V. I.
,
Kravchenko
,
A. G.
, and
Lizunov
,
P. P.
, 1989, “
Vibrations of an Oblate Ellipsoidal Shell Under Complex Rotation
,”
Teoret. i priklad. mehanika (Harkov)
,
20
, pp.
81
84
, in Russian.
193.
Hayek
,
S. I.
, and
Boisvert
,
J. E.
, 2003, “
Vibration of Prolate Spheroidal Shells With Shear Deformation and Rotary Inertia: Axisymmetric Case
,”
J. Acoust. Soc. Am.
0001-4966,
114
(
5
), pp.
2799
2811
.
194.
Michelitsch
,
T. M.
,
Gao
H.
, and
Levin
,
V. M.
, 2003, “
On the Dynamic Potential of Ellipsoidal Shells
,”
Q. J. Mech. Appl. Math.
0033-5614,
56
(
4
), pp.
629
648
.
195.
Kubenko
,
V. D.
, and
Kovalchuk
,
P. S.
, 1998, “
Nonlinear Problems of Vibrations of Thin Shells (A review)
,”
J. Ship Res.
0022-4502,
34
(
8
), pp.
3
31
, in Russian.
196.
Healey
,
J. J.
, 1965, “
Hydrostatic Test of Two Prolate Spheroidal Shells
,”
J. Ship Res.
0022-4502,
9
(
2
), pp.
77
78
.
197.
Hyman
,
B. J.
, and
Healey
,
J. J.
, 1967, “
Buckling Prolate Spheroidal Shells Under Hydrostatic Pressure
,”
Raketn. tehnika i kosmonavtika
,
5
(
8
), pp.
111
120
, in Russian.
198.
Bakirova
,
A. Z.
, and
Surkin
,
R. G.
, 1980, “
An Experimental Investigation of Stability of Prolate Shells of Revolution Under External Uniform Pressure
,”
Tr. semin. po teorii obolochek, Kazan, Kaz. fiz.-tehnol. in-t
, Vol.
13
, pp.
142
151
, in Russian.
199.
Rachkov
,
V. I.
, 1966, “
Experimental Investigations of Stability of Ellipsoidal Bottoms Under External Pressure
,”
Tr. VI. Vses. konf. po teorii obolochek i plastin, Baku
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
650
655
, in Russian.
200.
A prospect of exhibition “
Progressive research and constructive working out in ship building
,” A. part II. N5.35, A. method and experimental equipment for the research of shell strength, L., TsNII “Rumb,” pp.
3
, in Russian.
201.
Glushko
,
I. K.
, 1977, “
Experimental Investigation of Stress-strain State of a Multilayered Elliptical Bottom
,” Sb. tr. Vses. zaoch. politeh. in-ta, No. 107, pp.
160
171
, in Russian.
202.
Bazilevich
,
L.
, 2000, “
Investigation of Residual Stresses in an Ellipsoid of Revolution
,” Matem. problemi mehaniki neodnorodn. struktur: Sb., Vol.
2
, In-t prikl. probl. meh. i mat. NAN Ukraini, Lvov, pp.
141
144
, in Ukrainian.
203.
Solodilov
,
V. E.
, 1982, “
Experimental Investigations of Vibrations of Shells of Revolution Interacting With Liquid
,”
Tr. 2-go Vses. simpos. po fizike akustiko-gidrodin. yavleniy i optoakustike, Cuzdal
,
Nauka
,
Moscow
, pp.
321
323
, in Russian.
204.
Ross
,
C. T. E.
, and
Johns
,
T.
, 1983, “
Vibrations of Submerged Hemi-ellipsoidal Domes
,”
J. Sound Vib.
0022-460X,
91
, pp.
363
373
.
205.
Infimovskaya
,
A. A.
, and
Ponomaryov
,
I. I.
, 1987, “
Vibration of an Ellipsoidal Shell in a Contact With Acoustic Medium
,” Tr. XIV Vses. konf. po teorii plastin i obolochek, Oct. 20–23, Vol.
1
, pp.
625
630
, in Russian.
206.
Singer
,
J.
, 1982, “
The Status of Experimental Buckling Investigations of Shells
,” Buckling shells,
Proceedings State-of-the Art Colloq., Univ. Stuttgart
, May 6–7, pp.
501
533
.
207.
Zarutskiy
,
V. A.
, and
Sivak
,
V. F.
, 1999, “
Experimental Investigations of Dynamics of Shells of Revolution
,”
Prikl. Mekh.
0032-8243,
35
(
3
), pp.
3
11
, in Russian.
208.
Kiselyov
,
A. P.
, 2006, “
Evolution of FEM in the Investigations of Linear and Non-linear Deforming 2-D and 3-D Elastic Bodies
,” DSc dissertation.
209.
Jawed
,
M. H.
, 2004,
Design of Plate and Shell Structures
, (
Professional Engineering Publishing (ASME)
,
New York
), pp.
476
.
You do not currently have access to this content.